Go to content Go to main navigation


Edvard Hagerup-Bull, born in 1922 in Bergen, Norway, is currantly one of the most authentic Norwegian creators and probably one of the most original composers of the 20th century. Following brillant studies in Oslo, he came to Paris to work from 1948 to 1953 at the Paris «Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique» in the composition class of Darius Milhaud and Jean Rivier, and Olivier Messiaen’s analysis class.

His studies, crowned by a musical composition prize from the Paris C.N.S.M., were completed by the master teaching of Charles Koechlin, and then Boris Blacher at the Berlin Hochschule.

The man Darius Milhaud described as «one of his most brillant students» and «a musician with a solid technique and a truly very enthralling, vigorous and highly imaginative personality», composed a body of works impressive in terms of quality and quantity, and noteworthy for its diversity of genres.

The originator of two operas, thirty orchestral works and chamber music pieces, the work of Edvard Hagerup-Bull impressed wherever it is played, owing to its powerful lyricism and contrasts, reflecting his native Norway.

This great expressive and personnal characteristic spirit has a remarkably solid base of training and knowledge. Edvard Hagerup-Bull possesses the art of direct speech going straigh to the essential. His work is recognized throughout the world by numerous eminent artists.

Jean Rivier emphasized «his exceptional musical gifts». Time has added to this a depth and gravity of musical thought.

Jean-Jacques WERNER

See all works composed by Edvard HAGERUP-BULL

Works composed by Edvard HAGERUP-BULL

See all works composed by Edvard HAGERUP-BULL


Air solennel

Royal Philarmonic Orchestra de Londes, Dir. : Per Dreier

Aurora , cop 1986 / NC 4912

Ad usum amicorum

Quatuor Instrumental de Paris

Sonotec Qip-2-65

Bit 20

Aurora, p & c 1997 / ACD 4993

Sonata con spirito

Trio Ravel (extraits) / Soliste : Liviu Stanese

Aurora, cop 1986 / NC 4912

Premier concerto pour trompette

Orchestre Phil. d’Oslo / Soliste : Harry Kevebaek

Philips 6507013

Orchestre Phil. d’Oslo, Dir : Qivin Fjeldstad / Soliste : Harry Kevebaek

Aurora, p & c 1992 / ACD 4970 / Varèse VS 81019

Chant d’hommage à Jean Rivier

Norwegian Broadcasting Orchestra, Dir : Christian Eggen

Aurora, p & c 1992 / ACD 4970

Le petit berger du Haut Pays

Fl : Frédéric Werner / Pno : Anne-Marie Lachapele

Cassette : collection Panorama, Billaudot