Go to content Go to main navigation

Suite classique



Instrument family Piano
Catalog classifications Collection and separate works
Instrument nomenclature piano
Total duration 00:13:30
Publisher Éditions Billaudot
Collection Chefs d'œuvre d'Ukraine
Collection management TCHESNOKOV Dimitri
Cotage GB10429
Total number of pages 28
Languages AN, FR
Cycle / Level Moderately difficult (cycle 2), Difficult (cycle 3)
Target audience Children, Young people, Adults
Musical style Modern
Directory type Original work(s)
Copyright year 2023


Classical suite stands apart in Ihor Shamo’s output, as it is his only opus referring to Classical and Baroque music. The Prelude, Courante and Gigue are inspired by the French music of the 17th and 18th century, an evocation of Rameau. The Menuet and the Gavotte reveal the humourous side of the composer, a satirical humour which never descends into vulgarity. In Aria, with its noble melody underlined by a rich harmonic tapestry, we can imagine an old Kyiv. Like all Ihor Shamo’s works, this cycle is most sophisticated, both musically and pianistically.


EAN code 9790043104292
Audios Without
EDU complements Without