Go to content Go to main navigation

5 Préludes, op. 44



Instrument family Piano
Catalog classifications Collection and separate works
Instrument nomenclature piano
Total duration 00:15:00
Publisher Éditions Billaudot
Collection Chefs d'œuvre d'Ukraine
Collection management TCHESNOKOV Dimitri
Cotage GB10436
Total number of pages 16
Languages AN, FR
Cycle / Level concert
Target audience Young people, Adults
Musical style Modern
Directory type Original work(s)
Copyright year 2023


The 5 Preludes were composed in 1943 in Saratov where Borys Lyatoshynsky had been relocated following the invasion of Kyiv. This epic music, composed in the context of war, expresses the composer’s hope of a future victory. Lyatoshynsky’s unmistakable harmonic language also draws on Ukrainian popular and folk music, as do his major chamber music compositions Second Trio and Ukrainian Quintet, written during that same period. The 5 Preludes can be performed separately yet they are conceived as a cycle, similar to a ‘Suite’ in which the reoccurrence of several thematic elements – albeit transformed – throughout the composition creates an overall dramaturgic perspective.


EAN code9790043104360
EDU complementsWithout