Go to content Go to main navigation

Laurent CUNIOT

Laurent Cuniot is one of the few French musicians to lead a dual career in composing and conducting.
His composing path has been shaped by various influences: he started out performing as a violinist, branched out to conducting, and then pursued electroacoustic music. After studying with Guy Reibel and Pierre Schaeffer, he took over the torch, and for the past twenty years has been teaching Composition with New Technologies at the Conservatoire de Paris.
Concurrently, he assumed the musical direction of TM+ in 1985 and has since been developing its artistic vision, positioning the ensemble at the forefront of today’s music. This constant interface between composing and conducting naturally strengthens his bond with the performers. His close collaboration with mezzo-soprano Sylvia Vadimova has
spurred him to compose various vocal works: the chamber operas Cinq Pièces pour Hamlet and Spring and All for mezzo and ensemble, as well as the opera for one voice Des Pétales dans la Bouche.
His music is fueled by the 20th century avant-gardes, and thus has an expressive thrust and a deep awareness of sound-colors.
Several of his works have received awards from the SACEM, such as Ombraefor oboe and ensemble, which was deemed the best contemporary instrumental composition in 2006, and was awarded the Tornov-Loeffler prize by the Académie des Beaux-Arts.


> Premières

L’ANGE DOUBLE, for oboe solo and orchestra
Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France - Cond.: Mikko Franck
Ob.: Olivier Doise
Festival Présences - Radio France - Paris - France

See all works composed by Laurent CUNIOT



Works composed by Laurent CUNIOT

See all works composed by Laurent CUNIOT